The Confederations Cup

The Confederations Cup is an introductory to the World Cup and is therefore held every four years, in the year preceding the World Cup.

The two-week tournament features eight countries including the reigning World Cup Champions, the World Cup host nation and the six holders of the FIFA confederation championships.

This year’s tournament will feature world champions Germany and European champions Portugal and will showcase four of the host’s 12 World Cup venues Russia.

The eight teams are split into two groups of four before the top two head straight to the semi-finals.

Germany, Chile and Portugal are among the favorites to lift the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia.

Brazil, the reigning champions have been the most dominant being four time winners, while France has won it twice and Mexico once.


The eight teams to play in this tournament qualified as below;

Russia: As tournament hosts, they qualify automatically for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup and will host the world cup in 2018.

Germany: By winning the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil guaranteed themselves a slot at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017.

Cameroon: They will represent Africa after winning the CAF Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon in 2017. The Indomitable Lions came from behind to beat Egypt 2-1 in the final in February.

Australia: Qualified by winning the 2015 AFC Asian Cup. The Socceroos lifted the trophy on home soil, defeating Korea Republic 2-1 in a dramatic final on 31 January 2015.

Portugal: They beat France 1-0 in extra-time of the UEFA EURO 2016 final on 10 July 2016 to earn the right to represent Europe at the FIFA Confederations Cup Russia 2017.

Mexico: 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup winners won a one-match head-to-head play-off against USA to seal their place at Russia 2017.

New Zealand: Won the OFC Nations Cup, which was played in Papua New Guinea May-June 2016, and they represent Oceania in Russia.

Chile: They compete in the FIFA Confederations Cup for the first time after winning the 2015 Copa America. The hosts of the South American showpiece triumphed, beating Argentina 4-1 on penalties.

The World Cup warm-up tournament runs from June 17 to July 2.

Group A

Russia (hosts)    

New Zealand




Group B