Airtel Uganda, Mrs. Remmie Kisakye Kakuru, the Head – Brand and Communication, handing over the cheque to the Awards' organisers

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA), this morning, officially launched the 2017 Airtel-FUFA Awards scheduled for December 1, 2017 at Speke Resort hotel, Munyonyo in Kampala, with a Shs100 million boost.

Launched in 2014, the Airtel-FUFA Awards are held every year with the aim of honoring and recognizing Ugandan footballers regardless of their team or club performance. The awards also aim to encourage players to remain disciplined and focused throughout the year.

This year, the awards will see Geoffrey Sserunkuuma, Muzamil Mutyaba and Tadeo Lwanga battle for the top honor, Airtel – FUFA male footballer of the year, while Hasifah Nasuuna, Vannesa Kalungi and Fazila Ikwaput are the nominees for the Airtel – FUFA female footballer of the year.

Speaking on behalf of the FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, Rogers Byamukama thanked all the sponsors for their contributions that have been instrumental in planning these awards; specifically, Airtel Uganda for ‘standing with FUFA and believing in Ugandan football’.

“Our objective is to bring these outstanding players to the front, recognize them and award them for their efforts as well as the entertainment throughout the year. This year we will have 11 awards given out,” Byamukama said.

Airtel Uganda, Mrs. Remmie Kisakye Kakuru, the Head – Brand and Communication, who represented her company commended the awards organizing committee for the consistency in holding the awards as well as the media for the job well done in the past and encouraged them to keep it up.

She appealed to the public to vote as many times as possible in the 4 award categories that are SMS based as winners will be chosen according to the votes they received.

“On behalf of Airtel Uganda, I would like to pledge our commitment to continue supporting football in Uganda at all levels,” she concluded, before handing over the cheque to members of the organizing committee.

The 4 sms based awards include the ; Airtel-FUFA Male player of the year, Airtel-FUFA Female player of the year, Fans’ Favorite Ugandan player of the year, Fans favorite player in Other Leagues- outside Uganda. To vote, type FUFA (space) Code of the player and send to 8888.