The Uganda-Cranes

Twenty three Cranes players have been summoned for national team duty in preparation for the two upcoming international friendly matches.

FUFA confirmed one friendly against Malawi on March 27 at Mandela National Stadium, while the other match will be played on March 24 against a yet-to-be confirmed opponent.

Only four of the 23 are locally based players. They are; Nicolas Wadada (Vipers SC), Timothy Awany (KCCA FC), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC) and Abraham Ndugwa (Masavu FC). 14 players are based in Africa while the rest feature for clubs around the globe.

Sadiq Wassa will act as the goalkeeping coach in the absence of Fred Kajjoba who is undergoing a coaching course in the USA.

The players are expected to enter camp on March 19, with training commencing the following day.

The two friendly games will help Cranes prepare for the 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifiers against Tanzania, Lesotho and Cape Verde.

Uganda lead Group L with 3 points after winning the first match against Cape Verde 1-0 last year at the Estadio da Varzea in Praia. Geoffrey Sserunkuma scored the goal seven minutes from time. Tanzania and Lesotho settled for a 1-1 draw in Dar es Salaam.

The second round of the fixtures will be played on March 23, 2018, with Uganda Cranes hosting East African rivals Tanzania as Lesotho plays Cape Verde in Maseru.

The 2019 AFCON tournament will be played in Cameroon between June and July.


Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal (El Meriekh, Sudan), Robert Odongkara (St George, Ethiopia).

Defenders: Dennis Iguma (Al Nabi Shayth-Lebanon), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Vipers SC, Uganda), Isaac Isinde Not attached), Brevis Mugabi Yeovil Town, England) Murushid Jjuko (Simba, Tanzania), Timothy Awany (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Alex Kakuba (Feirense-Portugal).

Midfielders: Joseph Ochaya (Lusaka Dynamos, Zambia), Farouk Miya (Sebai FK, Azerbaijan) , Hassan Wasswa (El Geish, Egypt), Khalid Aucho (East Bengal, India), Geoffrey Kizito Baba (Than Quang Ninh-Vietnam), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC, Uganda), William Luwagga Kizito (CSMA Iasi, Romania), Abraham Ndugwa (Masavu FC, Uganda)

Strikers: Emmanuel Okwi (Simba, Tanzania),Yunus Ssentamu (FK Tirana), Edrisa Lubega (Floridsdorfer AC, Austria),Hood Kaweesa (Buildcon FC, Zambia).