Nathan Nandala Mafabi
FDC Secretary General Nathan Nandala Mafabi
Nathan Nandala Mafabi
Nathan Nandala Mafabi

Kampala-Budadiri West legislator Nathan Nandala Mafabi and former Ugandan Ambassador to Japan Wasswa Birigwa have been elected Forum for Democratic Change Secretary General and National Chairman, respectively.

Mafabi polled a distant 809 votes against his rival and fellow legislator Kassiano Wadri, who got 191 votes. The other contestant was Kampala Woman legislator Nabilah Naggayi Ssepala who got eight votes in absentia, while nine votes were declared invalid.

Amb. Birigwa, who many at the delegates’ conference viewed as a new comer to the party beat outgoing party Secretary for Legal Affairs, Dan Wandera Ogalo, in a tight race that also had former Katikamu North MP and Constituent Assembly Delegate,  Bwanika Bbale.

Stories Continues after ad

Mafabi, who had earlier assured party supporters that he was ready to work with party President Maj. Gen. Mugisha Muntu, said he would operationalize all district party offices and also give the district party secretaries a phone to ease communication.

“Immediately after being elected, every district Secretary will be given a phone for easy communication but I also intend to make all district offices operational from the time I assume office,” Mafabi said.

Others that won include Ingrid Turinawe, who was elected Secretary for Mobilization after beating Ibrahim Kasozi and Obongi Member of Parliament Hassan Kaps Fungaroo, Ms Anita Among and Justine Juuko. The post of Secretary for Information and party publicist went to firebrand Kyandondo East legislator Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda who defeated the acting secretary for publicity, John Kikonyogo and party activist Sarah Epenu.

Rubaga division Mayor Joyce Ssebugwawo was elected to the post of Vice President for Buganda, while the post of western region vice president went to Patrick Baguma. Aswa County legislator Reagan Okumu took the slot of Vice President North unopposed while Leader of Opposition in Parliament (LoP) Philip Wafula Oguttu stood down for Alice Alaso, after she pleaded with him to save her remain relevant in the party.

“Mr Wafula I want to request you to step down for me like I did for you during the LoP elections. Please allow me serve in the Vice Presidency as you remain LoP” Alaso pleaded.

And, without hesitation, Mr Oguttu took to the podium and announced he had stepped aside for Alaso.

Regional vice chairpersons are Salaam Musumba for Eastern Uganda, John Baptist Okello-Okello for Northern Region, Roland Mugume for Western and Baganda Ssenfuka for Buganda.

Tororo County legislator Geoffrey Ekanya was unopposed for the post of party Treasurer after Soroti Woman legislator Angelina Osege pulled out. By press time, elections for other posts were still being conducted.

Website | + posts