John Consta also won in Fort Portal

UMC rally results

  1. John Consta1:47:34
    2. Arthur Blick Jr1:47:56
    3. Kuku Ranjit 1:51:28
    4. Ronald Ssebuguzi 1:54:33
    5. Suzan Muwonge 1:57:57

    After an extended closed door meeting John, Costa and Arthur Blick were declared joint winners of the UMC Mountain of the Moon rally after scoring identical points Sunday in Fort Portal.

    The fourth round of National Rally Championship ended controversially as for the first time in Uganda’s Motorsport history a rally event registered two winners.

Arthur Blick Jr and John Consta were announced winners of the two day event.

Stories Continues after ad

John Consta was earlier announced winner until Blick’s camp protested against the initial times.

Both Competitors and event officials eventually sat in the meeting, which produced final results which will indicated a tie.

“It was a tough and challenging event, but we managed to return and thank God we won it. Our car was not reliable during the past events but now it is get- ting better and better and we shall continue pushing on,” Consta said.

Consta posted a time of one hour, 47 minutes and 34 seconds, the same time the crew of Arthur Blick Jr. and Unisan Bakunda in a Subaru N10 posted.

Kuku Ranjit, Ronald Ssebuguzi and Suzan Muwonge finished third, fourth and fifth respectively.

Duncan Mubiru dropped out of the event after his car developed a mechanical problem.

The NRC leader Blick was happy with the results saying that he achieved his target of getting a podium finish.

“We targeted a podium finish and we have got it. We have to thank our good Lord Jesus Christ that we completed second and now we shall attack in the Pearl of Africa rally,” Blick stated.

The next event on the FMU calendar is the Pearl of Africa which is to be held in August this year.

Earlier on in the day, drivers had threatened to boycott the rally because the organisers had refused Yasin Nasser to drive yet he submitted in his entry in time.


+ posts