Fiston Mwanza Mujila
Fiston Mwanza Mujila
Fiston Mwanza Mujila

Three people have been shortlisted for the 2015 Etisalat Prize for Literature.

Fiston Mwanza Mujila, from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and South Africans Penny Busetto and Rehana Rossouw were selected out of nine competitors to vie for the most prestigious literary prize for African fiction that is open solely to debut fiction writers from African countries.

Mujila is the author of Tram 83, while Busetto and Rossouw are the authors of The Story of Anna P, as told by Herself and What will People Say?, respectively.

Stories Continues after ad

The shortlisted writers will be rewarded with a sponsored multi-city book tour and will also have 1,000 copies of their books purchased by Etisalat for distribution to schools, libraries and book clubs across the Continent.

Penny Busetto


The trio was selected by a three-member judging panel including Professor Ato Quayson, Professor of English and inaugural Director of the Centre for Diaspora Studies at the University of Toronto (Chair of Judges); Molara Wood, writer, journalist, critic and editor; and Zukiswa Wanner, author of Men of the South and London, Cape Town and Johannesburg.

The winner of the third Etisalat Prize for Literature will be announced in March and will receive £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen. The Prize also includes an Etisalat sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.

Rehana Rossouw
Rehana Rossouw

“The variety of styles and subject matter of the books on this year’s Etisalat Prize for Literature shortlist reveal the vitality of contemporary African literature. They contribute to our understanding of what it is to love, to laugh, to improvise, sometimes to despair, to know and yet be fooled by the assurance of such knowledge, to work for our ablution in the fate of another’s suffering, and ultimately to embrace life in all its bewildering complexities.” Prof Quayson said.
NoViolet Bulawayo won the maiden edition of the Etisalat Prize for Literature with her highly celebrated debut novel, We Need New Names, while Songeziwe Mahlangu emerged winner of the 2014 Etisalat Prize for Literature competition with his novel, Penumbra.
The distinguished Patrons of the Etisalat Prize are the acclaimed writer Ama Ata Aidoo (Ghana), Pulitzer Prize Winner Dele Olojede (Nigeria), editor, critic and 2015 Man Booker Prize Judge, Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, OBE (UK/Zimbabwe), writer and public intellectual Kole Omotoso (Nigeria), editor, writer, broadcaster, consultant and co-founder of Allison & Busby, Margaret Busby, OBE (UK/Ghana) and novelist, poet and playwright Zakes Mda (South Africa).


+ posts