Parliament on Monday approved a list of seven prominent legal experts appointed by the President as Justices of the High Court.

The new appointments include: Suzan Okalany, Flavian Zeija, Anna Mugyenyi Bitature, Anthony Ayuko Ojok, Moses Kawumi Kazibwe, Stephen Mubiru and Ketra Katunguka.

Earlier this year, President Museveni appointed seven people to positions of justices and help combat backlog.

Stories Continues after ad

Parliament appointments committee led by the Speaker, Rebecca Kadaga finally agreed that the shortlisted candidates are fit to hear cases in the country’s High court. Both members of the opposition and the ruling National Resistence Movement   voted in favour of the seven justices. Judges, like other public appointees, are vetted behind closed-doors without the presence of journalists and other members of the public. However, some MPs have vowed to amend the rules in the 10th Parliament to open the committee to public scrutiny.

The newly appointed justices are expected to cut on case backlog which stands at 32,871 cases. Legislators advised them to fight corruption.

“Even if it calls for working overtime, we shall have to work as a team to reduce on the backlog,” said newly appointed Justice, Suzan Okalany noting that emphasis will be put on gander based violence cases because they are not given much attention.

Last September President Museveni elevated 11 judges and appointed a new one to the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeal. The new appointments put the number of High Court judges to 70