Sam Simbwa

Local football governing body Fufa on Fiday awarded ex-KCCA FC coach Sam Ssimbwa with a CAF ‘A’ certificate on Friday despite the tactician not being eligible to involve or associate in any footballing activities within Uganda for eight month.

Ssimbwa was handed an eight-month ban by the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (Fufa) and eventually sacked from KCCA, where he was assistant manager to Mike Mutebi.

Ssimbwa was banned for utterances he made last December when he claimed (in audio recorded on WhatsApp) that because he loved to win so much he paid referees to fix a match without the knowledge of the club.

Stories Continues after ad

Although Ssimbwa was not adjudged to be guilty of any match-fixing, Fufa judicial bodies, which include the Ethics and Integrity committee) charged him for bringing the game into disrepute. However, where all this has left the game remains the deep-lying question.

Said to be seeking a Shs 204-million compensation on grounds of unfair dismissal from Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) FC,  Ssimbwa didn’t attend the handover function at Fufa House in Mengo but secretly went there hours after to pick his certificate.

While Ssimbwa could be serving a punishment now, Fufa insists that the former SC Villa head coach can however operate his activities outside Uganda since the ban applies only in Uganda.

Besides Ssimbwa, the other coaches who received licenses are those who attended and passed the courses in 2015 and early this year and are of two categories, CAF A and CAF B.

Coaches who received the CAF A Licenses include:  Nantanda Majidah, Mike Mutebi, Moses Basena, Timothy Ayiekoh, Asumani Lubowa, George Semwogerere, Nyiima Jackson, Mujib Kasule, Kyambadde Stone, Mayanja Jackson, Lwanga Tom and Anyau Frank.

CAF B licenses: Fred Kajjoba, Paul Ssali, Ssebagala Frank, Kintu Paddy, Lonyesi Angelo, Kebba Harunah, Lule Mathias, Mubiru Abdallah, Peter Byaruhanga, Senoga Umar, Edward Kaziba,  Namuyanja Hadijah, Onen Peter, Bamweyana Douglas, Mutyaba Joseph, Nsimbe George, Deo Sserwadda, Mbalangu Hussein, Alex Gitta, Magala James, Mbabazi Livingstone, Mugerwa Francis, Mugabi Martin, Wanyana Christine, Wasswa Richard, Lukula Charles Ayiekoh, Alex Isabirye, Antonio Flores, Kefa Kisala, Lukyamuzi Vincent, Steven Bogere, Simon Kirumira, Lutalao George, Makanga Peter, Morley Byekwaso, Mujabi Robert, Ssali Tom, Bisaso Shafic and Mawa Harunah.

Website | + posts