Nansana Municipality Member of Parliament Nsereko Wakayima of the Democratic Party (DP) has been thrown out of Parliament after court ruled he was ineligible for election.

According to court, Nsereko, the 17 MP to lose a seat in the 10th Parliament, was nominated in error because his name does not appear anywhere on the National Voters Register.

Consequently, Robert Sebunya of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) was declared MP for Nansana Municipality.

Stories Continues after ad

By press time it was not possible to establish whether Mr Nsereko would appeal the ruling.

photo credit: Daily Monitor

Website | + posts