PUNISHED: The junior police officers who appeared before the police court on accusations of wantonly beating civilians

The Naguru based police disciplinary court has today set the date for the trial of the brutal police officers which is due on September 6.

This followed the final amendment in the charge sheet by the state prosecutor D\SSP Katherine Kusemererwa by including the negligence of duty.

The new charge is an addition of the initial two charges of unlawful conduct of authority and discreditable or irregular conduct.

Stories Continues after ad

The new charge is in respect to Mosses Nanoka, Andrew Kaggwa, Samuel Bamuzibire and Patrick Muhangi. The four police officers are to face the additional charge of negligence of duty.

However the other police constables, Robert Wanzala, Sula Kato, Deneth Muhangi, Willy Kalyango, Moses Agaba and crime preventer Dan Tandega  all share the initial two charges with their police bosses.

All pleaded not guilty to the respective charges which are against them by the IGP.

“All defaulters who are meant to be at Bwebajja for the police training should be aware that the police disciplinary court is still on going and should keep reporting whenever they receive a court sermon’’ says Denis Odong Odongpiny the chairperson of the court.

He also cautioned the defaulters to be prepared with their defense as the wait for their fate come September 6 when the court will give a ruling whether they have a case to answer or not.

It should be noted that some of the defaulters are on the run after having failed to appear to the police Professional Standards Unit (PSU) yet others could not easily be identified due to the direction of the camera in the video clips which only showed their backs.

The PSU commandant CP Fortunate Habyala was the first principal witness followed by ACP James Akiki Rhuweza the operations commander KMP, then a human rights expert Pollar Awich.

The witness exhibits included NBS television news video clip, registered statements, and testimonies of fellow police officers.

The police disciplinary court makeup is ACP Sarah Kibwika, CP Herman Owomugisha and SCP Denis Odong Odongpiny who is the chairperson


Website | + posts