Rwanda President Paul Kagame.

The government of Rwanda has made new changes in the foreign ministry, appointing a new Permanent Secretary and several other top officials.

In an announcement, Cabinet chaired by President Paul Kagame endorsed the appointment of Ambassador Claude Nikobisanzwe as the new Foreign Affairs and Cooperation PS, replacing Ms Jeanine Kambanda, who had served in the same capacity since 2014.

A former Ambassador to Singapore, Ms Kambanda has been posted to Parliament as Clerk, while her successor previously served as First Secretary at the Rwanda High Commission in South Africa.

Stories Continues after ad

Ms Kambanda replaces Immaculee Mukarurangwa, who was moved to the National Electoral Commission as the Deputy Executive Secretary. Also appointed is Ms Faith Rugema, the new Director General in charge of Bilateral Relations at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, while Diane Gitera and Colonel Gerald Butera were also appointed as the Director General in charge of Multilateral Relations, and Chief of State Protocol at the same ministry, respectively.

Other new appointments include that of Colette Ruhamya, who becomes the new Director General of the Rwanda Environment Management Authority (REMA), replacing Dr Rose Mukankomeje, her former boss who was fired and charged with corruption early this year.

A former state minister for energy and water, Ms Ruhamya has since March been acting as REMA DG.

Meanwhile, four ambassadors-designate were also approved to represent their countries in Rwanda. Dr Peter Woeste will represent the Federal Republic of Germany, with residence in Kigali; Jenny Ohlsson of the Republic of Sweden, with residence in Kigali; Pekka Juhani Hukka, of Finland, with residence in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania and Abdullah Mohammed Abdullah Al-Takkawi of the United Arab Emirates, with residence in Kampala, Uganda.


Website | + posts