Burundi / Congolese asylum seekers from Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) in the compound of the National Office for the protection of refugees and stateless persons (ONPRA). These are registered Congolese asylum seekers waiting for the outcome of the Refugee status determination (RSD). They were later transferred to Musasa refugee camp in the northen province of Ngozi. All of them are from the Barundi ethnic group ( Congolese speaking Kirundi). They arrived in Burundi with the last influx of September 2012. / UNHCR / B. Ntwari

The European Union Council has renewed the restrictive measures against Burundi until 31 October 2017, and the measures consist of a travel ban and asset freeze against four persons whose activities were deemed to be undermining democracy or obstructing the search for a political solution to the crisis in Burundi.

According to the EU the activities include acts of violence, repression or incitement to violence, and acts which constitute serious human rights violations.

‘The EU has repeatedly and continuously called on all parties to refrain from, and to condemn, any acts of violence. This is essential if the conditions for progress in the search for a political solution to the crisis are to be put in place and maintained,’ a release by Africa Press Organisation (APO) on behalf of the EU states.

Stories Continues after ad

The release adds: ‘The Council considered that the absence of progress in the situation regarding the four persons under restrictive measures justified the prolongation of the sanctions’.

The names of the persons concerned and the reasons for listing them are included in the annex to the decision of October 1, 2015 published in the Official Journal.


Website | + posts