OATH: Kenya's new Chief Justice David Maraga swears in before President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The new Kenyan Chief Justice David Maraga has been sworn in today at a function held at State House, Nairobi.

At the ceremony presided over by President Uhuru Kenyatta, the 66-year old Justice Maraga said he would strive to eliminate corruption and case backlog that has dogged the judiciary.

A former appellate judge, Justice Maraga succeeds Justice Willy Munyoki Mutunga, who became CJ in 2011.

Stories Continues after ad

Justice Maraga was nominated by the Judicial Service Commission and vetted by Justice and Legal Affairs Committee of Parliament before being approved.

Justice Maraga becomes the 14th Chief Justice of Kenya since the East African country attained Independence in 1963. Other before him are as listed below.

 1 Sir John Ainley 1963 1968
Arthur Denis Farrell 1968 1968
2 Kitili Mwendwa 1968 1971 Kenyatta
3 Sir James Wicks 1971 1982 Kenyatta
4 Sir Alfred Simpson 1982 1985 Moi
5 Chunilal Madan 1985 1986 Moi
6 Cecil Miller 1986 1989 Moi
7 Allan Hancox 1989 1993 Moi
8 Fred Apaloo 1993 1994 Moi
9 Abdul Majid Cockar 1994 1997 Moi
10 Zachaeus Chesoni 1997 1999 Moi
11 Bernard Chunga 1999 2003 Moi
12 Johnson Gicheru 2003 2007 Kibaki
13 Willy Mutunga 2011 2016 Kibaki