THe Electoral Commission logo

President Yoweri Museveni has forwarded six names of the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) commissioners he has appointed to the Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga, for approval.

According to the instruments, Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi becomes IEC Chairman, deputized by Hajjati Aisha Lubega. Byabakama Mugyenyi has been an Appeal/Constitutional Court Judge, while Hajjati Lubega is a former long-serving headteacher at Nabisunsa Girls School. Other members include Stephen Tashobya, the former Kajara County MP and chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Legal Affairs in the 8th and 9th Parliament; Peter Emurot, Prof George Piwang and little-known Mustapha Ssebagala Kigozi.

The new team replaces that led by Eng Badru Kiggundu, whose mandate ended November 17.

Stories Continues after ad

Kiggundu, who supervised three presidential elections, served at the IEC for 14 years, since 2002 when he replaced Hajji Aziz Kasujja, who passed on in April this year.

Other members of Kiggundu’s team included Joseph Biribonwa (Vice Chairman); Tom Buruku; Jenny Okello; Stephen Ongaria and Justine Mugabi Ahabwe.

IEC members can only serve a maximum of two-seven year terms.


Website | + posts