'QUEEN OF KATWE': Ugandan Actress Madina Nalwanga

Actress Madina Nalwanga is to be awarded at the upcoming Hipipo Awards.

We have exclusively learnt that Madina will be awarded with the “Entertainment Showpiece Act of 2016” award in recognition and celebration of her role in  ‘Queen of Katwe’ a 2016, American biographical sports drama film directed by Mira Nair and written by William Wheeler. Based on Ugandan chess prodigy Phina Mutesi’s life story, the film also features Nigerian actor David Oyelowo and Oscar-award winning Kenyan actress Lupita Nyong’o.

According to the organisers of the Hipipo awards, ‘Queen of Katwe’ story telling would have fallen short without a befitting actress like Madinah.

Stories Continues after ad

“She was superb for a debutant resulting into numerous commendations from movie reviews across the world for Madina Nalwanga the true star of the movie. The movie also shone a spotlight on the talent that lies untapped. The movie also served as a lesson for Ugandan Film makers,” noted Innocent Kawooya, CEO HiPipo awards.

He further added that: “Madina Nalwanga is a talented young dancer that has turned celebrated Hollywood superstar in her debut act. Courtesy of this accomplishment, the 5th prestigious HiPipo Music Awards will celebrate Madina Nalwanga with The Entertainment Showpiece Act of 2016.”

The Entertainment Showpiece Act is an award to an entertainment act that attracts critical attention and admiration and is an outstanding performance in the entertainment industry during the year. The award is open for performing arts industry works and personalities including for Music, Dance, Drama, Comedy and Film.

The prestigious HiPipo Music Awards that occurs yearly since 2012 is an annual extravaganza organized by HiPipo, to celebrate, promote and recognize music excellence in Uganda, East Africa and the whole of Africa.

HiPipo and her partners will present the 5th prestigious HiPipo Music Awards (#HMA2017) winners on Saturday, February 4, 2017 at Kampala Serena Hotel.

A total of 35 categories for nominees were earlier released including special categories namely; Quinquennial Africa Music Vanguard Award (2012/2016), Music Icon of the Decade (Uganda: 2006-2016), HiPipo Video Trailblazer Award and Lifetime Achievement Award. The other categories include East Africa Best Video, East Africa Super Hit, Song of the Year from Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and South Sudan.

The awards event will be graced with star studded epic performances from Ziza Bafana, Sheebah Karungi, Bebe Cool, Maureen Nantume and Ziwuuna band (led by Sammy Kasule and Frank Mbalire) among others. The Co-Host of the night will be Douglas Lwanga, the CEO Brand Purple and Wesley King (The King of Radio) who also doubles as the resident HiPipo events host since 2014.

The prestigious HiPipo Music Awards 2017 tickets will be sold exclusively through PayWay. To book a ticket, visit any PayWay location and purchase one, keep your ticket safe and present it for scanning by PayWay team at the entrance on 4th February 2017. Find PayWay points at all Total and Shell petrol stations, Mogas, Major supermarkets, Shops, Shopping malls and wherever you see the PayWay logo.