The new seven-member Independent Electoral Commission committee has been sworn-in today at the High Court by the Chief Justice Bart Katureebe.

I SWEAR: IEC Chairperson Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi takes oath.

The committee members named late last year include Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi, the IEC Chairman, deputized by Hajjati Aisha Lubega. Byabakama Mugyenyi was an Appeal/Constitutional Court Judge, while Hajjati Lubega is a former long-serving headteacher at Nabisunsa Girls School. Other members include Stephen Tashobya, the former Kajara county MP and chairman of the parliamentary committee on legal affairs in the 8th and 9th Parliament; Prof George Piwang, Peter Emorut and little-known Mustapha Ssebagala Kigozi.

The new team will replace that led by Eng Badru Kiggundu, whose mandate ended November 17 last year.

Stories Continues after ad

Kiggundu, who supervised three presidential elections, served at the IEC for 14 years since 2002 when he replaced Hajji Aziz Kasujja, who passed on in April last year.

Other members of Kiggundu’s team included Joseph Biribonwa (Vice Chairman); Tom Buruku; Jenny Okello; Stephen Ongaria and Justine Mugabi Ahabwe.

IEC members can only serve a maximum of two-seven year terms.


Website | + posts