MAIN CELEBRANT OF PARLIAMENT WEEK: Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga

Members of Parliament planning to travel outside Uganda on February 27 and 28 will have to forgo their trips in order to participate in elections for the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA), the Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga has directed.

Recently, Rt. Hon. Kadaga appointed a 20-member verification committee chaired by Ntungamo Woman MP Beatrice Rwakimari to scrutinise all the EALA candidates, and report its findings on February 20, a week to the elections.

The EALA candidates are: former ministers Rose Akol and Mary Mugyenyi; former Kakuuto MP Mathias Kasamba; Denis Namara; Paul Musamali and George Odong, all of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party.

Stories Continues after ad

Others are Fred Mukasa Mbidde of the Democratic Party (DP); Chris Opoka of the Uganda Peoples Congress (UPC) and, Ingrid Turinawe and Florence Ibi Ekwau, both from the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC).



Website | + posts