ANNOUNCED BYE-ELECTION: IEC Chairperson Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi takes oath.

The chairperson of the Electoral Commission Justice Simon Byabakama has set June 22 as the polling date for the bye- election of Upper Madi County, Arua district.

Addressing the media at the EC headquarters, Justice Byabakama said the nomination of candidates that will take place on May 31 and June 1.

“Candidates are obliged to observe law and order during this exercise and conduct their campaign meetings in accordance with the harmonized programme, hate language will not be tolerated,” Justice Byabakama said, adding: “Electoral observers are to be accredited by the EC between June 2 and June 20.”

Stories Continues after ad

He urged the aspiring candidates and other stakeholders to acquaint themselves with the relevant laws in order to appreciate their respective roles and responsibilities before, during and after the by-election.

The Upper Madi seat fell vacant after the nullification of NRM’s Isaac Joackino Etuuka by a three Justices of Court of Appeal on April 13.

Justices Remmy Kasule, Richard Buteera and Alfonso Owiny Dollo ruled that Etuuka was wrongly nominated and included on the ballot paper and they also faulted and ordered the EC and Etuuka to pay costs the appellant, John Arumadiru Drazu, both at the High Court and Court of Appeal.

Etuuka’s nomination as NRM flag bearer was cancelled during February 2016 general elections by a court order obtained by his rival Martin Drito.

Subsequently, the EC issued a public notice invalidating saying Etuuka’s nomination but Arua High Court judge Justice John Eudes Keitirima, upheld his election.