Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
23.7 C
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank

Azam UPL award nominees announced

Must read

The Azam Uganda Premier League awards are back and the nominees for this year in various categories have been revealed.

The biggest prize, a Toyota, will go to the Most Valuable Player of the Season, to be chosen from Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC), Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa)

And Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka).

The awards are aimed at rewarding the best performers from the 2016/2017 Azam Uganda Premier League season besides motivating footballers in the country.

The event will be held on 26th July 2017 at Imperial Royale Hotel, Kampala.

Last season Joseph Ochaya won the prize while at KCCA FC but he has since moved on to Zambia with Lusaka Dynamos.


The list of Nominees:


Champions – KCCA FC


MVP of the season:

Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC)

Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa)

Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka)


Goalkeeper of the season:

Isma Watenga (Vipers)

Benjamin Ochan (KCCA FC)

Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS)


Defender of the season:

Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Habib Kavuma (KCCA FC)

Timothy Awany (KCCA FC)


Midfielder of the season:

Saddam Juma (Express FC)

Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC)

Shafik Kagimu (URA FC)


Top Scorer:

Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC, 21goals)


Young Player of the year:

Allan Okello (KCCA FC)

Frank Tumwesigye (Vipers)

Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS)


Coach of the year:

Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC)

Abbey Bogere Kikomeko (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Wasswa Bbosa (SC Villa)


Best Goalkeeping coach:

Kiggundu Stephen Billy (Vipers)

Daniel Kiwanuka (KCCA FC)

Sam Kawalya (Express FC)


Club CEO of the season:

Tamale David (KCCA FC)

Lwanga Peter (Vipers)

William Bakkabulindi (Proline)


Media Personality (To be selected by awards committee)







Fan’s player of the year (Voted by fans)

Fair play club of the season (As per statistics)

Fair play individual of the season (To be selected by committee)

UPL best XI (To be selected by committee)

Fan(s) of the year (To be selected by committee)

Referee of the year (To be selected by referee’s committee)

Life Time Achiever Award (To be selected by committee)

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -