The UPL Awards Grand Prize: Subaru Forester
EC Village Verification

Imperial Royale Hotel is the place to be tomorrow when the Azam Uganda Premier League (UPL) awards reward the best performers from the 2016/2017 season starting at 6pm.

Geoffrey Sserunkuma, Emmanuel Okwi and Muhammad Shaban is the trio that was nominated for the category in which one will walk away with the grand prize, a Subaru Forester.

Sserunkuuma was voted KCCA’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) last month after he scored 21 league goals to help his side clinch the league title and holds the favourite tag above his challengers.

Stories Continues after ad

Emmanuel Okwi was SC Villa’s best player helping them finish runners up while Onduparaka’s Shabaan, who is now in South Africa on trials with Super Sport United, came third.

It will also be a close call for the best midfielder award between KCCA’s Muzamir Mutyaba, Shafik Kagimu of URA FC and Saddam Juma (now KCCA from Express) who have all had a good season.

Mike Mutebi is tipped to win the Coach of the Year award after leading KCCA FC to the league title ahead of his competitors Abbey Bogere Kikomeko of Kirinya Jinja SS, SC Villa’s Wasswa Bbosa.



Tomorrow: Imperial Royale Hotel, Kampala, 6pm

Champions – KCCA FC

MVP of the season: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC), Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa), Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka)

Goalkeeper of the season: Isma Watenga (Vipers), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA FC), Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Defender of the season: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Habib Kavuma (KCCA FC), Timothy Awany (KCCA FC)

Midfielder of the season: Saddam Juma (Express FC), Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC), Shafik Kagimu (URA FC)

Top Scorer: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC, 21goals)

Young Player of the year: Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Frank Tumwesigye (Vipers), Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Coach of the year: Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC), Abbey Bogere Kikomeko (Kirinya Jinja SS), Wasswa Bbosa (SC Villa)

Best Goalkeeping coach: Kiggundu Stephen Billy (Vipers), Daniel Kiwanuka (KCCA FC), Sam Kawalya (Express FC)

Club CEO of the season: Tamale David (KCCA FC), Lwanga Peter (Vipers), William Bakkabulindi (Proline)

Media Personality (To be selected by awards committee): TV, Radio, Print, Photography, Online

Fan’s player of the year (Voted by fans)

Fair play club of the season (As per statistics)

Fair play individual of the season (To be selected by committee)

UPL best XI (To be selected by committee)

Fan(s) of the year (To be selected by committee)

Referee of the year (To be selected by referee’s committee)

Life Time Achiever Award (To be selected by committee)