Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
26.7 C
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank

KCCA FC sweeps most honors at 2017 UPL awards

Must read

Mike Mutebi’s KCCA FC dominated the 2017 Uganda Premier League awards after winning six of the various categories of prizes on offer, crowning a successful year in which the team also became league champions.

KCCA FC walked away with most awards including, MVP, Coach of the year, Fair play team award, Fans’ player of the Year, Top scorer and Young player of the year that was won by nineteen-year-old Allan Okello.

The Lugogo-based club also dominated the Uganda Premier League Best XI with four players (Sserukuuma, Habib Kavuma, Muzamiru Mutyaba and Timothy Awani).

At individual level Geoffrey Sserunkuma won the most awards, Most Valuable Player, top scorer, fans’ player of the year and was also named on the team of the year, taking home four different awards.

The 34-year-old striker drove away the top prize, a Subaru Forester in addition to two million Ugandan shillings, during the prestigious event at Imperial Royal Hotel in Kampala presided over by the Speaker of the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) Dan Fred Kidega.

The 2017 UPL awards were the 5th edition and are held every end of the season to recognize and reward the best performers from the Uganda Premier League.

Sserunkuuma joins Joseph Ochaya, Miya Farouk, Robert Ssentongo and Brian Umony as the past winners of the top accolade.

Former KCCA left full back Joseph Ochaya, who is currently with Zambia’s Lusaka Dynamos, won the accolade last year.


Summary of the winners:

MVP: Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA Football club)

Top Scorer: Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA Football Club) – 21 Goals

Fans’ player of the Year: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA Football Club)

Life time achievers’ award: Patrick Kawooya (RIP) – Former SC Villa President

Young player of the year: Allan Okello (KCCA FC)

Midfielder of the year: Saddam Juma (Express)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Ismail Watenga (Vipers)

Defender of the Year: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

Goalkeeping coach of the Year: Stephen Billy Kiggundu (Vipers)

Coach of the year: Mike Mutebi (KCCA Football Club)

Referee of the year: Alex Munabi

Club Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the year award:  David Tamale (KCCA football club)

Fair Play Individual of the year – Fredrick Senoga

Fair play team award – KCCA football club

Media (On line): David Isabirye (Kawowo Sports)

Media (Print): John Viannie Nsiimbe (The Observer)

Media (TV): Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo (NTV)

Media (Radio): Phiona Namiiro (Star F.M)

Special Recognition award: Bukedde TV

Media ( Photography): John Batanudde (Red Pepper and Kawowo Sports)

Fans of the year: Onduparaka F.C fans

Team of the year

Ismail Watenga (G.K), Nico Wadada Wakiro, Habibu Kavuma, Halid Lwaliwa, Timothy Awanyi, Tadeo Lwanga, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Juma Saddam Ibrahim, Geofrey Sserunkuma, Shaban Muhammed, Emmanuel Okwi

Coach – Mike Mutebi

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -