NEW CRANES COACHES: Moses Basena and Fred Kajoba

During a press conference held at the FUFA headquarters in Mmengo yesterday, the football governing body appointed Moses Basena and Fred Kajoba as interim coaches after the departure of Serbian coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic.

And today, as Basena and Kajoba started their reign they named a 25-man squad for the upcoming CHAN 2018 qualification matches against neighbours Rwanda due on August 12th and 18th. The duo have been deputizing Micho and is also expected to take charge of the national team as it faces Egypt in back-to-back World Cup qualifiers in August and September.

The entire squad named for the CHAN matches is expected to start preparations by holding a training session tomorrow at Mandela National Stadium before the final 18-man team is named for the game.

Stories Continues after ad

Uganda beat South Sudan 5-1 to advance to the CHAN final qualifying round in Micho’s final game as coach. Paul Mucureezi scored four goals while Derrick Nsibambi scored the other.

Rwanda qualified after eliminating Tanzania on 1-1 goals aggregate following a goalless draw in the second leg played at Kigali Stadium.

The first leg will be will be played at Vipers’ home ground St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on August 12 while the second leg will be in Kigali, Rwanda.

The winner after the two legs guarantees a slot in the final CHAN tournament that will take place next year in January.

Uganda has played in the CHAN competition for two times, in Sudan 2011 and Rwanda 2016 failing to leave the group stages in both.

The CHAN tournament is reserved for players who feature in their respective domestic leagues across Africa, will be staged from January 11 to February 2, 2018 in Kenya.

The team:

Goalkeepers: Watenga Isma (Vipers SC), Keni Saidi (Proline FC), Ikara Tom (Kirinya Jinja SS), Ochan Benjamin (KCCA FC)

Outfield players: Wadada Nicholas (Vipers SC), Adriko John (Sc Villa Jogoo), Muleme Isaac (KCCA FC), Awanyi Timothy (KCCA FC), Toha Rashid (Onduparaka FC), Kabugo Savio (Proline FC), Muwanga Bernard (Sc Villa Jogoo), Waissa Moses (Vipers SC), Bukenya Deus (Vipers SC), Kasozi Nicholas (Synergy FC), Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC), Musamali Paul (KCCA FC), Mucureezi Paul (KCCA FC), Serunkuma Simon (Sc VIlla Jogoo), Derick Nsibambi (KCCA FC), Masiko Tom (Vipers SC), Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka FC), Frank Tumwesigye (Vipers SC), Kagimu Shafiq (URA FC), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers Sc).

Website | + posts