18.1 C
Sunday, October 1, 2023
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank
Stanbic Bank

She Cranes draw tough opponents for Commonwealth Netball Games 2018

Must read

Africa netball champions, the She Cranes, has been drawn in the same pool as England, Malawi and the world number two side New Zealand, for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The She Cranes will be competing in their first ever Commonwealth Games after they won the Africa Championship in July, which saw them rise to ninth in the International Netball Federation world ranking list.

All of the top 12 ranked teams on the list, as of July 1 2017, earned places at the Commonwealth Games scheduled for next year.

Australia, ranked number one, is the defending champions of the Commonwealth Netball championships after defeating New Zealand in the 2014 final. The tournament took place in Glasgow, Scotland.

Australia has three Commonwealth Games crowns and are the defending champions. New Zealand has won two. No other country has beaten the two powerhouse netball nations in the Commonwealth Games.

The Preliminary Rounds will be played at Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre, while the Finals will be played at Coomera Indoor Sports Centre.

Each team will feature a maximum of 12 players, and a total of 144 athletes set to participate.

The Games take place on Australia’s Gold Coast from April 5-15. ­­

Pool A: Australia, Jamaica, South Africa, Barbados, Fiji, Northern Ireland.

Pool B: New Zealand, England, Malawi, Wales, Scotland, Uganda.


Uganda’s fixtures

5th April 2018: New Zealand Vs Uganda

7th April 2018: Uganda Vs Malawi

8th April 2018: England Vs Uganda

10th April 2018: Wales Vs Uganda

11th April 2018: Uganda Vs Scotland

Website | + posts
- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

- Advertisement -