Some of the 25 suspended MPs

The 25 suspended MPs were expected to return to Parliament today after the lapse of three sittings, but the August House has been adjourned to allow members prepare for Independence Day on October 9.

On Wednesday, September 27, the Speaker Rebecca Kadaga suspended 24 opposition MPs and one National Resistance Movement stalwart, water resources State Minister Ronald Kibuule, for indiscipline.

This was after the group was involved in a fistfight following allegations by Kira Municipality MP Ibrahim Semujju Nganda that Kibuule had sneaked a gun into the parliamentary chambers, in contravention of the rules.

Stories Continues after ad

At the time and during the chaos last Wednesday, plain-clothed members of the Special Forces Command stormed the chambers and evicted the opposition MPs, in the process injuring Mityana Municipality legislator Francis Zaake Butebi and Soroti Woman MP Angelina Osege.

The suspended MPs include Allan Ssewanyana, Robert Kyagulanyi, Monica Amoding, Sam Lyomoki, Moses Kasibante, Betty Nambooze, Francis Zaake, Ibrahim Kasozi, Nzaavu, Gilbert Olanya, Muhammad Nsereko, Odonga Otto, and Winfred Nuwagaba and Nandala Mafabi.

Among others are Medard Lubega Seggona, Joseph Sewungu, Gerald Karuhanga, Gaffa Mbwatekamwa, Florence Namayanja, Moses Kasibante Theodore Sekikubo, Barnabas Tinkasimire and Ms. Osege.

Yesterday parliamentary committee on Rules, Discipline and Privileges summoned all the 24 opposition and Independent legislators but interestingly Minister Kibuule was exonerated.

The MPs summoned are against the controversial bill being peddled by the Igara West MP Raphael Magyezi, aimed at removing the presidential age limit capped at 75 years in the 1995 Constitution.


Website | + posts