The CAF logo

On September 24 this year, Kenya were stripped of the right to host the 2018 African Nations Championship (CHAN) during a Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) executive committee meeting in Accra.

The decision was made after an investigation by CAF revealed there was lack of adequate preparations and also that the political situation in Kenya was not conducive.

Since then Morocco, Equatorial Guinea and Ethiopia all bid to substitute Kenya and now CAF will decide the new CHAN host on Saturday 14, 2017.

Stories Continues after ad

Despite CHAN matches only featuring locally-based footballers, the games have full international status and count toward the monthly FIFA rankings.

Previously, Uganda has played in the CHAN competition in Sudan 2011, 2013 in South Africa and Rwanda 2016, every time failing to leave the group stages.

The tournament involves 16 teams including the host nation and will take place from January 11 to February 2 next year.

Meanwhile, CAF President, Ahmad Ahmad, who was present at the Wednesday meeting, reaffirmed that Cameroon are still set to host the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

Qualified teams for CHAN: Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea Conakry, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Sudan, Uganda, Zambia.


Website | + posts