Rebel MPs including Theodore Sekikubo, Patrick Nsamba, John Baptist Nambeshe, Gaffa Mbwatekamwa, Barnabas Tinkasimire address the press

Nine National Resistance Movement (NRM) ‘rebel MPs’ have today been ejected from a party caucus  meeting on the orders on President Yoweri Museveni, who is the NRM Chairman.

Theodore Sekikubo, Patrick Nsamba, John Baptist Nambeshe, Gaffa Mbwatekamwa, Barnabas Tinkasimire, James Kaberuka, Patrick Nsamba, Sylvia Rwabwogo and Winfred Nuwagaba were ordered to leave after NRM Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa said they would leak party secrets.

The ejection of the MPs comes on the heels of a move by Igara West legislator Raphael Magyezi tabling a ‘private members bill’ seeking to expunge Article 102(b) of the 1995 Constitution, which sets the presidential age limit at 75 years.

Since then, the 9 ‘rebel MPs’ and all opposition legislators have opposed the move, saying it is aimed at creating a ‘Museveni life presidency’.

“Due to opposition to the private members bill that is aimed at lifting presidential age limit, Nankabirwa read out our names saying that she didn’t feel comfortable sitting with us because we may reveal caucus secrets,” Sekikubo said at a press conference held at Parliament this afternoon.

Sekikubo, who said they have not been summoned by the NRM over indiscipline, adding that the decision was arbitrary.

“We have known Museveni for being tolerant to those with opinions; what they are doing is bad to the country and treacherous to the party,” he added.

According to Nambeshe, the President had summarily dismissed them from NRM, in contravention of the party rules.

“They started with national Constitution and they are now on party Constitution,” he said, adding that Cabinet had abdicated its roles in respect to the age limit debate.

“Since when did Cabinet run away from the duty of this age limit matter and leave it for back-bencher Raphael Magyezi?” he wondered.