CELEBRATING: NRM 'rebel' MPs cut a cake to celebrate Busujju MP David Lukyamuzi Kalwanga's decision to defect from NRM pro-age limit removal group

The nine National Resistance Movement (NRM) legislators that were ejected from the party caucus meeting on the orders on President Yoweri Museveni have today petitioned NRM Secretary General Justin Kasule Lumumba to take disciplinary action against the party chairman and government chief whip, Ruth Nankabirwa.

Theodore Sekikubo, Patrick Nsamba, John Baptist Nambeshe, Gaffa Mbwatekamwa, Barnabas Tinkasimire, James Kaberuka, Patrick Nsamba, Sylvia Rwabwogo and Winfred Nuwagaba were ordered to leave by party Chairman Museveni after NRM Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa said they would leak party secrets.

The nine are against private members bill being peddled by the Igara West MP Raphael Magyezi, aimed at  removing presidential age limit the was set at 75 years in the 1995 Constitution. Observers say Magyezi’s move is to pave for way for President Museveni to contest in 2021 when aged 77 years, two years above the current cap.

Stories Continues after ad

In a press briefing held at parliament earlier in the day John Nambeshe confirmed writing to NRM disciplinary committee in protest against the ‘illegal and arbitrary suspension from the caucus’, saying President Museveni and Nankabirwa acted as ‘complainant and judge’ when they were thrown out without a hearing.

The nine say they expect the committee to take action basing on party Constitution saying none of the accused is a member of the committee that will influence its decision making.

They meanwhile, also celebrated Busujju MP David Lukyamuzi Kalwanga’s decision to defect from NRM pro-age limit removal group by cutting a cake.







Website | + posts