EC Village Verification

President Yoweri Museveni has appointed ten new Judges to the High Court and four others to the Court of Appeal.

In a February 7 communication by the Speaker Rebecca Kadaga, she told Members of Parliament that Mr. Museveni had named Richard Wabwire, hitherto the Corporation Secretary of the National Social Security Fund (NSSF); Joyce Kavuma; Jane Abodo; Cornelia Sabiiti and Paul Gadenya; Olive Mukwaya Kazaarwe; Musa Sekaana; Alex Ajiji; Emmanuel Baguma and Tadeo Asiimwe as high court judges.

In the same communication Ms. Kadaga told MPs that Mr. Museveni had also elevated Justices Christopher Madrama; Percy Night Tuhaise; Stephen Musota and Ezekiel Muhanguzi as Court of Appeal judges.

Stories Continues after ad

The 14 appointees will appear before Parliament for approval on Feb. 14 and 15.

If all the nominees are approved, the High Court will have 63 judges, while the Court of Appeal will have 15 judges.