MP Paul Mwiru

Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) MP-elect Paul Mwiru is today expected to be sworn in as the Jinja East legislator following his win in the hotly contested bye-election.

Two weeks back, Jinja district returning officer Rogers Sserunjogi declared Mwiru as the winner with 6654 votes against his closest rival Nathan Igeme Nabeta of the National Resistance Movement (NRM), who garnered 5043 votes.

Other candidates in the race were Faisal Mayemba Masaba (117), Paul Geraldson Mugaya (48), Richard Henry Nyanzi (47), Francis Wakabi (24), and Monica Abuze (18) and Hatimu Isabirye Mugendi who got only seven votes.

Stories Continues after ad

The Jinja East parliamentary seat fell vacant after a panel of three appelate court judges threw out Igeme Nabeta, who was wrongly declared MP by then Jinja district returning officer Anthony Mwaita in 2016. Consequently, the judges ordered for fresh elections.


Website | + posts