First Lady and Minister for Education and Sports, Janet Museveni.

Minister of Education and Sports Janet Museveni is set to officiate at the commissioning and handover of 54 primary schools to district local governments in six districts slated for 2nd to 30th May 2018.

Through the Uganda Teacher and School Effectiveness Project (UTSEP),the commissioning will take place at Birere mixed primary school in Isingiro district, Awaliyo primary school in Arua district), Abololil primary school in Alebtong district and Chebelat primary school in Kapchorwa district.

Commissioning of the other schools will be handled by the State Minister for Primary Education Rosemary Nansubuga Seninde accompanied by district local leadership.

Stories Continues after ad

The US $ 33 million investment has been financed by the Global Partnership for Education (GPE) through the World Bank to the Ministry of Education and Sports.

UTSEP signed a grant agreement with Education Ministry whose aim was to support government in improving teacher and school effectiveness in the public primary education system.
Through the grant, the Ministry is constructing 138 schools in 31 districts, financing the construction of classrooms, functioning girls’ and boys’ toilets, and access to water in the needy schools. These schools were selected through a combined needs and effort-based assessment.

So far, the construction of 54 schools has been completed through a centralized procurement modality. The completion of 84 other schools is underway and is expected to be finalized by December 2018.

Each of these schools is receiving quality classroom blocks built to high standards; school administration blocks, water and sanitation facilities and teacher housing. A minimum of 112,000 pupils are expected to benefit from this investment alone.

At this function, stakeholders are expected to attend the commissioning ceremonies including among others; Area Members of Parliament (MPs), Resident District Commissioners (RDC’s), LC V Chairpersons, LC III Chairpersons, Area Councilors, Sub-County Chiefs, Head teachers, School Management Committees, parents, pupils and community members.

Website | + posts