MADE ANNOUNCEMENT: Minister of ICT and Cabinet Spokesperson Frank Tumwebaze

Cabinet has approved the appointment of members of the National Building Review Board that will among others ensure that the design and construction of buildings that will be accessed by persons including those with disabilities.

Committee members include Mr. Emmanuel Male Mr. James Erochu Enou, Ms. Grace Mary Mugasa, Mr. Milton Fred Ocen, Mr. Jonathan Tugume, Ms. Harriet Kaahwa, Mary Kugonza, Ms. Eva Katusabe, Ms. Margaret Adata, Dr. Jackson Amone, Architect Enoch Kibbamu, Apollo Mukasa, Charles Kyamanywa, Ms. Tabitha Kakuze, Ms. Betty Nakamya and Mr. Edward Ssimbwa.

Addressing journalists Frank Tumwebaze, the cabinet spokesperson who doubles as the Minister for Information and Communication Technology, said the board will oversee, inspect and monitor the operations of building committees across the country.

Stories Continues after ad

“Members approve building plans, prepare and submit reports relating to any matter of building developments to the minister of planning and urban development, hear and determine appeals from persons dissatisfied with decisions of a building committee,” Minister Tumwebaze said.

He also said the board will determine the amount of money charged by Urban and District Building Committees for approval of plans, issue of building permits.