Jack Wilshere misses out

England National Football team manager Gareth Southgate has today announced the final 23-man squad for the FIFA World Cup this summer in Russia.

Only five players in the squad were part of the previous team in the 2014 world cup; Gary Cahill, Phil Jones, Jordan Henderson, Danny Welbeck and Raheem Sterling.

There’s no room for Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere in midfield, Everton’s Theo Walcott and Adam Lallana of Liverpool while Oxlade Chamberlain misses out due to a long term injury.

Stories Continues after ad

Former Three Lions keeper and Captain Joe Hart missed the cut due to poor form and Harry Kane is set to lead the team out during the tournament.

Surprise call ups for Alexander-Arnold who has been rewarded for his superb form in Liverpool’s run to the Champions League final and Ruben Loftus-Cheek after an impressive season on loan at Crystal Palace.

Tom Heaton, Jake Livermore, James Tarkowski and Lewis Cook are on those on standby incase the called up players pick up an injury.

England’s official World Cup 2018 squad:

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope

Defenders: John Stones, Phil Jones, Kyle Walker, Garry Cahill, Danny Rose, Harry Maguire, Alexander-Arnold, Ashley Young, Kieran Trippier.

Midfielders: Henderson, Eric Dier, Dele Alli, Jesse Lingard, Raheem Sterling, Fabian Delph, Ruben Loftus-Cheek.

Strikers: Harry Kane, Jamie Vardy, Marcus Rashford, Danny Welbeck.



Website | + posts