Ahmed Musa and Messi will be the players to lead their countries.

With Croatia having already qualified from Group D, Argentina, Iceland or Nigeria still have a chance to join them in the next round.

Nigeria and Argentina will lock horns once again, this time at Saint Petersburg Stadium, with ambitions of both teams to advance to the knockout stages of Russia 2018.

Nigeria are in second place and feature the youngest side of the tournament, and will prove to be a tough opponent for Argentina to break down.

Stories Continues after ad

Argentina’s aim is clear, they need to win, and hope Iceland don’t beat Croatia. A draw for Nigeria against Argentina will be enough, provided that Iceland don’t beat Croatia. Iceland need Argentina and Nigeria to draw, and then if they can beat Croatia by two goals or more. If Iceland and Argentina both win then it will come down to goal difference.

After an abysmal performance by Nigeria losing 2-0 in the first game, the Super Eagles impressed in their fixture against Iceland that they won 2-0 and they hope to show the same character against Argentina.

Argentina have one point from their opening two games after a 1-1 draw with Iceland, followed by a shock 3-0 defeat to Croatia.

Coach Sampaoli is in talks to be dismissed following his side’s potential exit, though a second-place finish today would likely maintain his position as head coach until the end of the tournament.

The Super Eagles have lost all four of their previous World Cup group games against Argentina (1-0 in 2002 and 2010, 2-1 in 1994 and 3-2 in 2014).

Lionel Messi’s brace was matched by Ahmed Musa in 2014, before a goal from Macros Rojo early in the second half. Both Messi and Musa are likely to be on the field in Saint Petersburg once more.

Marcos Rojo is available to be called upon in the defence and Angel Di Maria is expected to play a part after being dropped to the bench in the previous game.
The match will be played at 9pm Ugandan time.

Possible lineups:
Argentina: Caballero (GK), Salvio, Otamendi, Rojo, Tagliafico, Mascherano, Perez, Di Maria, Messi, Meza, Aguero.
Nigeria: Uzoho (GK), Omeruo, Troost-Ekong, Balogun, Ebuehi, Mikel, Ndidi, Moses, Etudo, Musa, Iheanacho.

Website | + posts