PLEASE RETIRE: NRM party National chairman, Yoweri Kaguta. Museveni.

The National Resistance Movement is yet to concede defeat in the two Municipalities of Apaac and Bugiri where the party candidates lost with a small margin according to the results declared by the Electoral Commission.

In fact the NRM is critically studying the results from the two new towns to determine the next course of action, according to the party communications chief, Rogers Mulindwa.

Bugiri district returning officer, Phiona Kunihira declared Basalirwa winner with 3,928 votes followed by NRMs Francis Oketcho who polled 3,267votes.

Stories Continues after ad

Opposition Forum for Democratic Change [FDC] candidate, Eunice Namatende, managed only 830 votes while Joel an independent got 13 votes.

Namatende was the first to concede loss, hours before the announcing of results.

“Friends, it was a great opportunity to take part in the Bugiri MP Municipality elections! These were two long months of campaigns for me and my team! We would like to thank you all for your contribution as we believed that we could make a contribution in leading our people in Parliament. I would like to thank all those that supported us and voted for me! You are great men and women of Bugiri,” Namatende said.

But in the four other new Municipalities
NRM won the Parliamentary seats according to the Electoral Commission.

In Kotido flag bearer, Peter Lokii Abrahams swept with 5830 votes as FDC’s Oryono Okot walked away with only 137 votes. Here even the Mayoral seat was also won by NRM candidate, Ismail Muhammad Lomwar with 6243 votes against FDC’s 156.

In Sheema Municipality, Hon Dr. Elioda Tumwesigye (NRM) polled 13590 to defeat FDC’s Virginia Mugyenyi. Atucugwire Abel (NRM) also won the Mayoral seat with 18068.

In Ibanda, NRM’s Rwaburindore Tarsis took the Parliamentary seat with 13331 while FDC’s Alex Byaruhanga who came next got only 590 votes. Appolow Kibeitherere (NRM) is the Municipal Mayor after collectibg 22,803 against FDC’s 4, 224.

In Nebbi municipality, Hashim Sulaiman (NRM) got 4,283 votes to become a member of parliament while Geoffrey Ngiriker polled 3,899 to become the pioneer Municipal Mayor.

In Njeru Municipality the NRM candidate became the first Mayor with 15248 against independent Diana Mutasindwa who polled 5343. Amos Kivumbi of FDC came third with 4286 votes.

Website | + posts

Senior Writer-Busoga