Luka Modric with the #TheBest Award for best player

The 2018 FIFA Best Football Awards ceremony took place at the London Royal Festival Hall yesterday evening in England. The awards were previously called the FIFA Ballon d’Or Awards.

Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric scooped his first individual FIFA accolade, beating Mohamed Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo to become the first player other than Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to win since Kaka in 2007.

Modric took the top honour with 29.05 percent of the vote, with Ronaldo receiving 19.08 percent and Salah 11.23 percent.
Messi voted his rival Ronaldo in third place, with Kylian Mbappe in second place and Modric in first.

However, Ronaldo opted not to vote for Messi at all, placing his former Real Madrid team-mate Raphael Varane in first, with Modric second and Antoine Griezmann in third.
Uganda National team captain Denis Onyango voted for Kylian Mbappé in first, Modric in second and Cristiano Ronaldo in third.

Coach Desabre voted for Mbappe, Hazard and Messi in first, second and third respectively.
The award was decided by national team coaches and captains, select members of the media and online voting.

The awards have been previously called the FIFA Ballon d’Or since 2010 and ran for six consecutive years.

Fifa decided not to renew the deal in 2016, meaning the Ballon d’Or lost its ‘Fifa tag’ and reverted back to being voted for by journalists as a separate award in 2017, as The Best FIFA Awards were created.

The full list of the winners:
Men’s Player: Luka Modric
Women’s Player: Marta
Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps
Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros
Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois
Puskas Award: Mo Salah’s goal against Everton
Fan Award: Peru supporters
Fair Play Award: Lennart Thy
World11: David De Gea; Dani Alves, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Raphael Varane; Eden Hazard, N’Golo Kante, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi.