Vipers players

Vipers Sports Club manager Javier Martinez Espinoza named an 18-man squad to travel to Sudan ahead of the crucial CAF Champions League qualifier encounter against Al-Merreikh SC.

Team captain Taddeo Lwanga and his assistant Moses Waiswa who sat out in the 2-1 win against Paidha Black Angels on Friday, return from National duty and are part of the travelling contingent.

With Fabien Mutombora ruled out due to an injury picked up during the international break with Burundi, Bashir Ssekagya and Derrick Ochan will be the two goalkeepers that will be available for selection.

Stories Continues after ad

The team departed on Tuesday morning aboard Ethiopian Airlines.

Vipers travelling squad to Sudan

The technical team consists of: Javier Martinez Espinoza – Team Manager, Abu Wamboya Mubarak – Assistant Coach, Moses Oloya – Goalkeeping Coach and Mathias Kasagga – physiotherapist.

Algerian referees; Aderazzek Arab, Abbes Akram Zerhouni and Brahim El Hamiaoui have been assigned to handle the Wednesday tie in Khartoum.

The return leg will be played at St. Mary’s stadium in Kitende on 5th December 2018.

The victors of the fixture will face either Algerian side CS Constantine or GAMTEL from Gambia in the next round of the champions league group stage qualifiers.

The winners of the next round of the qualification round will be a total of 15 clubs that will join CAF Champions League Winner (Season 2018) in the group matches of the 2018-2019 season.

Club that have were given a bye into the next round include; Al Ahly (Egypt), AS Vita Club (DR Congo), Esperance (Tunisia), TP MAzembe (DR Congo) and Morocco’s Wydad AC).

Meanwhile, KCCA FC, Uganda’s representatives in the CAF Confederations Cup, received a bye to the first round and will wait for the next round of qualification.

Vipers Travelling Squad

Goalkeepers: Bashir Ssekagya, Derrick Ochan.

Defenders: Ibrahim Kiyemba, Livingstone Mulondo, Geoffrey Wasswa, Bashir Asiku, Halid Lwalilwa, Yayo Lutimba.

Midfielders: Taddeo Lwanga, Moses Waiswa, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Duncan Sseninde, Brian Nkuubi, Abraham Ndugwa.

Strikers: Tito Okello, Brian Kalumba, Noah Wafula, Dan Sserunkuma.

Caf Champions League

Wednesday, 28th November 2018

Al-Merreikh SC vs Vipers SC