The Cubs Captain Kizito Mugweri Gavin in training

Uganda will host the Council of East and Central Africa Football Association (Cecafa) Under-20 championships from January 14th to 27th for the first time after eight years.

FUFA has released a 31-man provisional squad for the regional tournament and decided to use entirely an U-17 Squad.

Eighteen of the Uganda U-17 national team (Cubs) players who won the 2018 CAF region U-17 qualifiers in Tanzania for the AFCON 2019 U-17 finals are part of the 31 man team.

The others are from the junior sides of the StarTimes Uganda Premier League clubs and schools.

The team starts residential training at the FUFA Technical centre, Njeru on Friday, 4th January 2019.

Gulu and Jinja towns have been earmarked to host the two-week tournament sponsored by world football governing body, Fifa.

Eleven nations – Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Somalia, Rwanda, Burundi, Eritrea, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Sudan and neighbours South Sudan – have confirmed participation.

Uganda won the past two editions of the tournament staged in 2006 and 2010 in Tanzania and Eritrea respectively.

Uganda Squad:

Goalkeepers: Delton Oyo (Kirinya-Jinja S.S Junior Team), Jack Komakech (Ndejje University Junior Team), Daniel Ssemwogerere (Bright Stars Junior Team), Eric Kaweesi (URA FC Junior Team)

Right Backs: John Rogers (Onduparaka Junior Team), Kevin Ssekimbega (Express Junior Team), Jonathan Gift Odong (Kakungulu Memorial)

Left Backs: Innocent Opiro (Ndejje University Junior Team), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA Soccer Academy)

Center backs: Gavin Kizito Mugweri (Vipers Junior Team), Yasin Mukiibi (Kataka), Samson Kasozi (Bright Stars Junior Team)

Holding Midfielders: Ronnie Ziraba (Express Junior Team), Shafik Waswanga (Ndejje University Junior Team), Ibrahim Ekellot (KCCA Soccer Academy)

Attacking Midfielders: John Kokas Alou (URA Junior Team), Thomas Kakaire (Bright Stars Junior Team), Polycarp Mwaka (Ndejje University Junior Team), Andrew Kawooya (Vipers Junior Team)

Wingers: Ivan Asaba (Vipers Junior Team), Yasin Abdul Owane (Vipers Junior Team), Isma Mugulusi (Kirinya-Jinja S.S Junior Team), Derrick Lubega (Express Junior Team), Owen Mukisa (BUL Junior Team)

Forwards: Iddi Abdul Wahid (Onduparaka Junior Team), Sekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC JT) Najib Yiga (Vipers Junior Team), George Opio (Luzira FC), Rogers Mugisha (Mbarara City Junior Team), James Jarieko (Paidha Black Angels Junior Team)