Uganda Cranes goalkeeper and Captain Dennis Onyango was named on the FIFPro Africa CAF team of the year.

This was during the Aiteo CAF Awards 2018 held last night in Dakar, Senegal, attended by FIFA President Gianni Infantino, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad, President of Republic of Senegal Macky Sall and FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo.

Onyango was once again inspirational for Uganda Cranes in the qualification to the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations, making it unbeaten with a game to spare and not conceding in as many as five matches.

Stories Continues after ad

The other players on the team include; the CAF footballer of the year 2018 Mohammed Salah, Aurier, Benatia, Bailly, Koulibaly, Keita, Partey, Mahad Mahrez, Aubameyang and Sadio Mane.

Onyango was present in Dakar to pick his award. The delegation from Uganda that had Cranes coach Sebastien Desabre, was led by Edgar Watson. FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo was also in Dakar as CAF Executive Committee Member where he also attended the meeting that confirmed Egypt as this year’s hosts for the AFCON tournament.

Meanwhile, Mauritania was named the CAF national team of the year, coming ahead of Uganda Cranes and Madagascar, and the other nominated teams.

Full Awards:

CAF Male Player of the Year 2018

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year 2018

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa and Houston Dash)

Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco and Borussia Dortmunmd)

Men’s Coach of the Year

Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Platinum Award

His Excellency Macky Sall (President of the Republic of Senegal)

Federation President of the Year

Fouzi Lekjaa

Goal of the Year

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa and Houston Dash)

Attachments area