FUFA-Drum provinces

The Katikkiro of the Buganda Kingdom Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga, will be the Chief Guest as the second edition of The 2019 FUFA Drum gets underway with Buganda hosting Lango at Bishop Brown SS, Mukono on Saturday.

FUFA Executive Member in charge of marketing and communications Rogers Byamukama, who is also the chairman organizing committee FUFA DRUM confirmed the development in the press conference at Mengo.

Byamukama also emphasized that the new playing format will see the top two teams in each of the four groups assemble at one venue from where the champion will be determined.

Stories Continues after ad

“There is a slight change this season. Unlike the previous edition where we played on home and away basis up to the final, this time round, we shall a different set up after the group stage. The top two teams in each group will converge in one venue and play to determine the champion.”

Transfer of players from one province to another will not be allowed and Byamukama warned provinces to be aware of this while summoning squads.

“A player who featured for one province last season is not allowed to transfer to another. We therefore warn coaches to avoid this.” added Byamukama.

The chairman organizing committee also indicated that the man of the match cash prize (Ushs 100,000/=) and the plaque will be maintained this season.

FUFA will as well maintain the transport, accommodation and feeding financial assistance rendered towards the provinces.

Official Opening Match: Saturday, 30th March 2019

Buganda Vs Lango – Mukono Bishops S.S Playground (4 pm)

Sunday, 31st March 2019

Busoga Vs Tooro – Kyabazinga Stadium, Bugembe – Jinja

Kampala Vs Rwenzori – Luzira Prisons Stadium

West Nile Vs Bunyoro – Bar Okoro, Zombo

Acholi Vs Karamoja – Pece Stadium, Gulu

Ankole Vs Sebei – Kyamate Stadium, Ntungamo

Bugisu Vs Kigezi – Mbale

Bukedi Vs Teso – Butaleja

Breakdown of the prize money for last season

Winners (Buganda) – Shs32 million

Runners up (West Nile) – Shs15 million

Losing Semifinalists -Shs5 million

Losing Quarterfinalists – Shs3 million

Third teams at group stage- Shs1.5 million

Last teams at group stages – Shs1 million

Best XI – Shs11 million

Best Coach- Shs1 million

Most Valuable Player-Shs1 million

Top Scorer – Shs1 million

Best Goalkeeper – Shs1 million

Fair Play Team -Shs1 million

Best Fan – Shs1 million

Website | + posts