Uganda will be the guest country at this year’s COSAFA Cup tournament that will be staged in the South African coastal city of Durban from May 25th to June 8th, 2019.

The Cranes have been drawn to face Lesotho in the quarter finals and will use the tournament to serve as vital preparations for the upcoming 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

According the organizers, the top six ranked countries will kick start the tournament at the quarter final stage. These are; Lesotho, Uganda, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Botswana and Zambia.

Stories Continues after ad

Zimbabwe has won the most titles (six) since the tournament inception in 1997. South Africa and Zambia have four championships apiece. Angola follows with three whilst Namibia has won it once.

Other countries that have been invited as guests previously are Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Madagascar and Tanzania.

Uganda was also invited for the COSAFA Women championship last year where they finished third.

The 2019 COSAFA Cup will be the 19th edition of the COSAFA Cup, an international football competition consisting of national teams of member nations of the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA).

Group A: Angola, eSwatini, Comoros, Mauritius

Group B: Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi, Seychelles

Quarter finals:

Lesotho Vs Uganda

Zimbabwe Vs Group A Winner

South Africa Vs Botswana

Zambia Vs Group B Winner

Website | + posts