Uganda cup trophy

Proline Football Club reached the 2019 Uganda Cup final for their first time after eliminating fellow Fufa Big League side Kyetume FC 4-3 in penalty shootouts at the StarTimes stadium in Lugogo.

Shafik Bisaso’s side came into the second leg carrying a 2-1 advantage from the first leg at Nakisunga grounds Mukono.

Kyetume won with the same score line to put the game on a 3-3 aggregate in full time. Cephas Kabugu and Patrick Ochan scored for Kyetume while Ibrahim Bonyo scored for the hosts Proline in normal time.

Stories Continues after ad

Musitafa Mujjuzi, Joseph Mandela, Bright Anukani and Hakim Kiwanuka all converted their spot kicks for Proline while James Begesa missed.

Denis Lubowa, Cephas Kambugu and Robert Ssentongo scored for Kyetume while Vincent Kayizzi and Benon Tahomera missed their kicks.

Proline FC will await for the winner between Uganda Premier League sides Express FC and Bright Stars who are playing their return leg on Thursday 9th May at Muteesa II Stadium Wankulukuku. The first leg at the Champions Stadium in Mwererwe ended in a one-all stalemate.

The 2019 Uganda Cup final will be played on May 25th at the Masaka Recreational Stadium.

The winning club of the Uganda Cup will walk away with Shs40 million, runners up Shs20 million, semi-finalists Shs10 million while the quarter finalists walked away with Shs5 million.

The winner of the competition represents Uganda in the Caf Confederation Cup as per the rules of the competition. KCCA FC are the defending champions.

Express FC and KCCA FC are the teams that have won the Uganda Cup most, ten times each.

Attachments area
Well received, thanks.Received, thank you.Noted with thanks.