Onyango with the trophy

Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango won his sixth league title in South on the final PSL day as he helped his club Mamelodi Sundowns retain the title.

Onyango was voted Man of the Match for his heroics in their 1-0 away win over Free State Stars.

Phakamani Mahlambi scored the only goal that separated the two sides at the death of half time.

The result ensured the Brazilians won their record ninth Premier Soccer League title and the fourth under the era of current coach, Pitso Mosimane.

They have won the South African league in 1998, 1999,2000,2006,2007, 2014, 2016, 2018 and now 2019.

Onyango has now on the South African league six times. In 2007/8, 2008/9, 2009/10 at SuperSport United and 2013/14, 2015/16 and 2018/19 at Mamelodi Sundowns.

Orlando Pirates coached by former Cranes coach Micho Sredjovic cane second, finishing on 57 points, 2 below the champions Sundowns.

Elsewhere, Allan Kateregga’s Maritzburg United F.C secured a relegation playoff after drawing 1-1 against Baroka FC and still have a chance to play in South Africa’s top flight league next season.