Uganda Cranes head coach Desabre

Uganda Cranes Head coach Sebastien Desabre has released a list of 26 players for the camp in Abu Dhabi in preparation for the forthcoming 2019 Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Egypt.

The squad consists of 4 goalkeepers, 9 defenders, 9 midfielders and 4 strikers, both local and foreign based players. The entire Uganda Cranes contingent will fly out on 27th May 2019.

The goalkeeping department has four players including KCCA FC’s Charles Lukwago who will join the team after the COSAFA tournament in South Africa.

Stories Continues after ad

Among the new faces to be part of the squad is Swedish based striker Alexis Bakka and Östersunds FK defender Ronald Mukiibi, while Midfielder William Kizito Luwagga returns for the first time under Desabre.

The final 23 man squad to feature in the Total AFCON Finals in Egypt will be named after the camp in United Arab Emirates.

While in Dubai, Cranes will play friendly matches against an unnamed opponent on 9th June 2019 and then with Ivory Coast on 15th June 2019 before flying to Cairo, Egypt.

Uganda are in Group A alongside the hosts Egypt, Democratic Republic of Congo and Zimbabwe.

The Squad:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns-South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City FC-Ethiopia), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC-Uganda).

Defenders: Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town- England), Nicholas Wadada (Azam FC-Tanzania), Awanyi Timothy (KCCA FC-Uganda), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Unattached), Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds-Sweden), Murushid Juuko (Simba-Tanzania), Godfrey Walsumbi (Unattached), Muleme Isaac ( FK Viktoria Zizkov- Czech Republic), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe-DR Congo).

Midfielders: Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers Fc-India), Kirizestom Ntambi- Coffee FC –Ethiopia), Michael Azira (Montreal-USA), Waisswa Moses (Vipers SC-Uganda), Sadam Juma (KCCA FC-Uganda), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica FC- Croatia), Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy-Kazakhstan), Kateregga Allan ( Maritzburg-South Africa).

Strikers: Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC-Uganda), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC-Uganda), Alexis Bakka (Carlstad United- Sweden), Nsibambi Derrick (Smouha- Egypt).