Eng. Magogo is joined by others after the vote.


FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo has been elected as the new Caf Executive Member for the East and Central zone.

Magogo obtained 33 votes out of 54 defeating the President of Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) Tenga Leodegar who received 19.

Stories Continues after ad

The election took place during the 41st Ordinary General Assembly for the Confederation of African Football Association (CAF) at Aida ballroom in Cairo, Egypt on Thursday, 18th July 2019.

Magogo replaces Tenga who was re-elected unopposed four years ago after Djibouti’s Hassan Suleiman stepped down.

The Central and East zone consists of all the Council for East and Central African Football Associations (CECAFA) countries that include Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Zanzibar, Somalia, Burundi, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Sudan and South Sudan.

Magogo was co-opted as an executive committee member of Caf by Ahmad Ahmad in 2017 but is now a full member after winning with the most votes.

Senegal’s Augustin Senghor is for the Western Zone A, Sita Sangare (Burkina Faso) is for Western Zone B and Central Africa Republic’s Patrice Edouard Ngaissona is for Central zone.

Libya’s Abdulhakim Abraheem Abdulrarazzik Al Shalmani won the Northern region vote.


Website | + posts