Shawn Mubiru


Uganda Premier League side Sports Club Villa Jogoo have appointed Shawn Mubiru as the new club’s Chief Executive Officer.

He replaces David Sserebe who has been serving as the interim CEO for more than a year.

Stories Continues after ad

In a lengthy facebook post after his appointment, Shawn promised to take back the great club to its rightful place under his leadership not only in Uganda, but alos on the continent.

“I accept to serve a great club that I have supported since childhood. SC Villa is a club you cannot turn down when they come knocking.

“SC Villa’s rich history, and a great fan base are assets for the club. We shall work hard and smart to position them in order to create revenue for the club.

“We at a critical time as a club, and I want to pledge that I will lead a team that will do everything to ensure that we are strongly and strategically placed to take on any challenge. This includes having a good team in every sector that understands and appreciates the core values of the club, including of course, the coaching and playing staff whom I have faith in and together we will get the job done.

“While it is a challenging course for me, I am determined and excited about what is ahead for this great club. My job is to restore SC Villa to its rightful place in the game football in Uganda and on the continent.

“Football just like any trade calls for dedicating time, hard work and commitment. In order for us to be successful, discipline is key, we will need to be fair in all our dealings and that will bring honor to our badge.

“Let take this great appointment to thank the board for giving me this opportunity to reposition our great club.

“I would like to thank all SC Villa Jogoo fans wherever they are, my promise to you; we will reach you and listen to you. We are taking this great club back to the top together.

“We are going to let all of you know of our plans for the club.”

Mubiru’s appointment comes at a time when the club indicated that permanent leadership at the club will be elected in February 2020.