Uganda Cranes


Uganda Cranes Squad for the CHAN 2020 Qualifiers started training for the second round of the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifiers against Burundi.

Interim head coach Abdallah Mubiru will be hoping to get the best from his squad when all the players report for duty after the weekend.

Stories Continues after ad

The most notable call up of the squad is KCCA FC’s Sulaiman Mike Mutyaba who last played for the Cranes in 2014 in a world cup qualifier match against Liberia. He had retired in February 2017 but made a U-turn in 2018 when called coach Mike Mutebi needed his services.

The first leg will be played on 20th September in Bujumbura and the 2nd leg on 18th October 2019 in Kampala.

The aggregate winner over the two legs will qualify for the final tournament in 2020 that will be staged in Cameroon.

Uganda Cranes are seeking for their fifth appearance at the 16-team tournament, having played at four CHAN champions in 2011 (Sudan), 2014 (South Africa), 2016 (Rwanda) and lately 2018 (Morocco).

The competing national teams in this championship must be composed of only players playing in their domestic league. That is, a Ugandan player is only eligible to play for the Uganda Cranes if he is playing for a Ugandan club.

Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) have won it twice, holding it the most times while Morocco are the defending champions.

The competition will be hosted between January and February 2020 in Cameroon. It is held after every two years.


The 32 Players Summoned

Goalkeepers: Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Mugabi Yasin (Wakiso Giants Fc), Keni Saidi (Sc Villa), Mutakubya Joel (Kyetume FC)

Defenders: Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Kapampa Eddy (Maroons FC), Mustafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Kizza Mustafa (KCCA FC), Revita John (KCCA FC), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC), Mbowa Paul (URA FC), Galiwango Arafat (Police FC), Benson Tahomera (Kyetume FC), Mandela Ashraf (URA FC).

Midfielders: Wahab Ghadafi (Onduparaka FC),  Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City FC), Kasozi Nicolas (KCCA FC), Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC), Vianney Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Sulaiman Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Kagimu Shafiq (URA FC), Kayiwa Allan (Vipers SC), Okello Allan (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Sam Kintu (Proline FC), Kyeyune Saidi (URA FC), Owor David ( SC Villa ), Ssozi Yusuf ( Police FC), Kigozi Samson Andrew (Police FC)

Strikers: Bayo Fahad (Vipers SC), Sserunkuma Daniel (Vipers SC), Lubega Edrisa (Proline FC)