dick okello

Ugandan assistant referee Dick Okello has been selected by Caf to officiate at the Total U-23 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Okello is one of the thirteen assistant referees on the final list for the tournament that kicks off on 8th November.

The 28 year old was also part of the match officials that officiated at the U-20 Afcon in Niger that took place in February 2019.

Stories Continues after ad

The final list also consists of twelve centre referees making it a total of twenty five officials for the tournament.

For the second time, the CAF Referees Committee has appointed female match officials for a men’s tournament – the upcoming Total U-23 Africa Cup of Nations Egypt 2019.

The appointments build on CAF’s commitment to include more female match officials in its competitions, which began with the appointment of three female match officials for the Total U-17 Africa Cup of Nations in Tanzania last April, a first in the history of male CAF competitions.

At the U-23 AFCON scheduled for 8-22 November in Cairo, Rwandan referee Salma Mukasanga will lead the female match official trio, joined by assistant referees Diana Chikotesha and Fathia Jermoumi of Zambia and Morocco respectively.

The tournament will see hosts Egypt in Group A with Mali, Cameroon and Ghana against title holders Nigeria, Cote d’Ivoire, South Africa and Zambia will complete the pack in Group B.

The two venues for the U-23 AFCON are Cairo International Stadium and Al Salam Stadium.

The teams to finish in the top three will qualify to represent Africa at next year’s Olympic games in Tokyo.

Referees: Lahlou Benbraham (Algeria), Houngnandande Djindo Louis (Benin), Adelaide Ali Mohamed (Comoros), Mohamed Maarouf Eid Mansour (Egypt), Rakotojaona Andofetra (Madagascar), Daouda Gueye (Senegal), Slim Belkouas (Tunisia), Boubou Traore (Mali), Pierre Ghislain Atcho (Gabon), Souleiman Ahmed Djama (Djibouti), Geogre Gatogato (Burundi), Salma Mukansanga (Rwanda).

Assistant Referees: Dick Okello (Uganda), Sanou Habib Judicael Oumar (Burkina Faso), Jawo Abdul Aziz Bollel (Gambia), Ivanildo Meirelles De O Sanche (Angola), James Fredrick Emile (Seychelles), Samuel Pwadutakam (Nigeria), Hassani Khalil (Tunisia), Abdoul Aziz Moctar Saley (Niger), Firmino Bassafim (Guinea Bisau), Dos Reis Montenegro Miro (Sao T. & Prin.), Wahid Youssef Elbosaty Youssef (Egypt), Chikotesha Diana (Zambia), Jermoumi Fathia (Morocco).

Website | + posts