ufl 2019 champions - ucu

Uganda Christian University were crowned the 2019 University Football League (UFL) champions following a 2-1 win over St. Lawrence University in the final played at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo on Sunday.

Forward Ezra Kaye Kizito scored a brace for the Mukono based university to inspire them to their first ever title while Misi Ssemugera scored St. Lawrence’s consolation goal.

The two goals pushed Kaye’s goals tally to 14 goals for UCU in the campaign.

Stories Continues after ad

UCU smiled home with Ugx 4,000,000 as prize money and a trophy while the runners up St. Lawrence received 3,000,000 plus silver medals.

In the third place playoff, Bugema edged Uganda Martyrs University 3-2 on penalties after a 3-all draw in normal time.

The final was graced by State Minister of Sports Hon. Charles Bakabulindi.

Past Winners:

2019 – Uganda Christian University (UCU)

2018 – Kyambogo University

2017 – Uganda Martyrs University, Nkozi

2016 – Kampala University

2015 – Makerere University Business School (MUBS)

2014 – Makerere University Business School (MUBS)

2013 – Kampala University

2012 – Makerere University