Emmanuel Katongole

President Yoweri Museveni has reappointed six of the current members on the board of Uganda National Oil Company (UNOC) even though he has included a new face.

Those confirmed on November 12, 2019 for a second five-year term is; Emmanuel Katongole (Chairman). Other board members are; Eng. Irene Pauline Batebe, Francis N. Twinamatsiko, Godfrey Andama, Stella Marie Biwaga, Francis Nagimesi and Zulaika Mirembe Kasajja who replaces Grace Tubwita.

Katongole, an economist and businessman is most famous for the role he played in setting up Quality Chemical Industries Limited (now known as Cipla Quality Chemical Industries Limited (CQCIL)), a leading pharmaceutical company making and supplying triple-combination anti-retroviral drugs.

Stories Continues after ad


Francis Nagimesi is a former chief executive officer of the defunct Coffee Marketing Board of Uganda; Francis Twinamatsiko is a principal economist in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development (U); Irene Pauline Batebe is a chemical/refinery engineer in the Petroleum Directorate of Uganda; Godfrey Andama, is a senior geoscientist; and Stella-Marie Biwaga, is a lawyer working with FIDA, Uganda while Zulaika Mirembe Kasajja is a city lawyer working with a reputable law firm.

The first board was formed in July 2014 though it was inaugurated by Museveni in October 2015. The members will now have to wait to be approved by parliament, Museveni having forwarded their names and curriculum vitae for vetting.

Website | + posts