Onyango with the absa PSL trophy

Uganda Cranes Captain Denis Masinde Onyango has been listed amongst the 2019 CAF Best XI nominees after his exceptional performances for both club and country.

Onyango had an outstanding year winning the Absa Premiership league title with Mamelodi Sundowns in South Africa and captaining the Cranes back to Afcon having kept five clean sheets out of the six qualifier games.

Last year Onyango was named the best goalkeeper in the Caf FIFPro team of the year 2018.

Africa Cup of Nations champions Algeria dominate the list with a total of 10 players amongst the full list of 55 players.

The final team will be announced on the 7th of January 2020 at the CAF headquarters in Cairo at the annual awards ceremony.

Nominees in full:

Goalkeepers: Moez Ben Cherifia, Yassine Bonnou, Mohamed El Shenaway, Sylvain, Gbohouo, Rais M’bolhi, Edouard Mendy, Richard Ofori, Andre Onana, Denis Onyango, Francis Uzoho.

Defenders: Youcef Atal, Serge Aurier, Mehdi Benatia, Ahmed El-Mohammadi, Lamine Gassama, Faouzi Ghoulam, Achraf Hakimi, Ahmed Hegazi, Kalidou Koilibaly, Christian Luyindama, Issa Mandi, Joel Matip, Noussair Mazraoui, Yassine Meriah, Youssouf Sabaly.

Midfielders: Andre-Frank Anguissa, Ismael Bennacer, Sofiane Feghouli, Idrissa Gueye, Tarek Hamed, Alex Iwobi, Wahbi Khazri, Naby Keita, Franck Kessie, Wilfried Ndidi, Riyad Mahrez, Thomas Partey, Mubarak Wakaso, Victor Wanyama, Hakim Ziyech.

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Jordan Ayew, Anis Badri, Cedric Bakambu, Youcef Belaili, Baghdad Bounedjah, Odion Ighalo, Sadio Mane, Moussa Marega, Mbaye Niang, Nicolas Pepe, Mohamed Salah, Islam Slimani, Percy Tau, Wilfried Zaha.